The number of victims of the Corona virus in Kurdistan has reached 193

The number of victims of the Corona virus in Kurdistan has reached 193

11:34 - 24 March 2020


Hengaw: after dying of 15 other citizens, the death toll of coronavirus in Kurdistan has increased to 193

According to recorded statistics at Hengaw Statistics Center, during the last 24 hours, at least 11 other citizens lost their lives in the cities of

Shahindezh (2), Urmia (2) Mahabad (1), Piranshahr (1), Rabat (1), Bukan (1), Harsin (1), Kermanshah (1), Kangavar (1), Marivan (1), Sanandaj (1), Mehran (1) and Ilam (1) died due to corona. Among these  victims five of them in Mahabad, Bukan, Urmia, Kangavar and Mehran were women.

More than half of those who died during the past night were from  Azerbaijan Gharbi Province (Urmia). It is also the first recorded case of corona victims in the cities of Mahabad and Harsin.

Due to a lack of a reliable and formal network broadcasting system, HANGAW Human Rights Organization, provides the latest statistics and information from reliable sources, announcing the death toll from the outbreak of the Corona virus in Kurdistan as follows. It is worth noticing that Hangaw regularly updates the latest relevant statistics to the public.

According to Hengaw statistics over the last days, at least 193 civilian deaths due to the coronavirus have been registered in Kurdistan, including 56 women and 137 men.

Breakdown based on provinces: Ilam Province: 27 (8 females and 19 maled) Kermanshah Province: 48 (15 females and 33 males) Kurdistan Province (Sanandaj): 74 (21 females and 53 males)  Azerbaijan Gharbi Province (Urmia): 44 (12 females and 32 males)

These statistics were recorded by Hengaw, while the government's media only officially announced 83 victims. According to government statistics, there are 25 persons in Kurdistan province, 31 perspns in Azarbaijan Gharbi province, 16 persons in Kermanshah province and 11 in Ilam province.


Breakdown based on cities Saqez (44), Kermanshah (22), Urmia (16), Ilam (14), Sanandaj (13), Ivan Gharb (9), Sonqur (7), Gilan Gharb (6), Sarpol Zahab (5), Baneh (5), Khoy (5), Bukan (5), Qorveh (4), Miandoab (3), Piranshahr (4), Kangavar (4), Kamyaran (3), Marivan (3), Bijar (2), Tekab (2), Shahindezh (4), Malekshahi (1), Dalahoo (1), Oshnaviyeh (1), Chaypareh (1), Naqaeh (1) ), Rabat (2), Islamabad Gharb (1), Paveh (1), Mehran (2), Mahabad (1), Harsin (1).